Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Media > Little League News Archive > 2012 > September-December > Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour Assumes Chairmanship of the Little League International Board of Directors

Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour Assumes Chairmanship of the Little League International Board of Directors

Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour Assumes Chairmanship of the Little League International Board of Directors

Becomes First Female Chairman in Program’s History


Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour

Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour, President of the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport, Pa., is the new chairman of the Little League International Board of Directors, it was announced today by Stephen D. Keener, President and Chief Executive Officer of Little League Baseball and Softball.

Dr. Gilmour, the first female to be elected Chairman in Little League’s 73-year history, has been a member of the Little League International Board of Directors for six years. She succeeds outgoing Chairman Dennis Lewin of Wellington, Fla., who will remain on the board.

“Davie Jane brings a wealth of expertise and experience to the position of Chairman,” Mr. Lewin, who was elected as Chairman in 2007, said. “She is highly respected in her field, and since joining the board in 2006, has provided a profound voice in crafting the future direction of the Little League program.”

While Little League Baseball and Softball has included female volunteers since the very first season of play in 1939, girls were excluded from the program as players until 1974. Since then, it is estimated that five (5) million girls have played Little League Baseball and Softball. Today, nearly 400,000 girls play Little League in dozens of countries around the world.

Dr. Gilmour became president of Penn College, a special mission affiliate of Penn State committed to applied technology education, in 1998. She joined the college in 1977 as an instructor and curriculum developer in the dental hygiene program and became its chief academic officer in 1996. She earned Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in health education from Penn State, as well as bachelor’s and associate’s degrees in dental hygiene from West Liberty State College.

“I have a genuine respect for the role and responsibility of Chairman, and I’m proud to be associated with an organization that plays such a relevant role in the lives of so many children,” Dr. Gilmour, who was voted Chairman-Elect in 2008, said. “I see many parallels between the roles of Chairman and college president. In both instances, I am afforded the chance to share in the personal growth of young people, and play a role in their development as they take those fateful first steps into the rest of their lives.”

Penn College will mark its 100th anniversary in 2014. The college began as a vocational program established by Williamsport Area School District in 1914. Officially named Williamsport Technical Institute in 1941, it earned a national reputation for partnering with business and industry to educate students in applied technologies. The institute evolved and became one of the state’s first community colleges, Williamsport Area Community College, in 1965. A unique affiliation with Penn State, approved by state legislation in 1989, created the Pennsylvania College of Technology.

Today, Penn College is a national leader in applied technology education offering baccalaureate and associate degrees related to more than 100 career fields. It ranks among America’s Best Colleges and is considered one of the top 10 public baccalaureate colleges in the north. It is one of the nation’s top 100 associate degree producers.

Among her community affiliations and professional activities, Dr. Gilmour has served on the executive committee as chairman of the Williamsport-Lycoming Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, President of the Community Arts Center Board of Directors, Penn College Foundation Board of Directors, Central Pennsylvania Workforce Development Corporation Board of Directors, Susquehanna Health System Board, First Community Foundation, and a trustee to the YWCA of Williamsport.

Dr. Gilmour resides in Williamsport with her husband, Fred. Hugh E. Tanner of Houston, Texas, a partner at the Morgan, Lewis & Bockius Litigation Practice in Houston, was voted Chairman-Elect of the Little League International Board of Directors. He will succeed Dr. Gilmour at the conclusion of her five-year term.


From L to R: Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour, Hugh Tanner, Linda North, Kristian Palvia, Janice Christiansen, Darlene McLaughlin

Four new board nominees also were elected during the meeting. Linda North (Peachtree City, Ga.); Darlene McLaughlin (Calgary, Alberta; Canada); and Kristian Palvia (Skovde, Sweeden) are field directors assuming seats, while Janice Christiansen (Bellevue, Wash.) is an at-large election.

The Little League International Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the property and affairs of Little League Baseball and Softball. Little League, founded in 1939 in Williamsport, is the world’s largest organized youth sports program, with more than 2.5 million participants in all 50 U.S. states and scores of other countries.

The members of the Little League International Board of Directors are volunteers in this service to Little League Baseball and Softball. They receive no compensation for their dedicated work on behalf of the children of the world.


The Little League International Board of Directors, during its November meeting, elected Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour, fourth from the left in the front row, as Chairman; and Hugh Tanner, first from the left in the second row, as Chairman-Elect. Dr. Gilmore, elected to a five-year term, is the first female to serve as board chairman. The board also elected field directors Janice Christiansen, first from left in front row; Darlene McLaughlin, second from left in front row; Linda North, Linda North, second from right in front row; and Kristian Pavlia, First from right in back row, as new board members.

Officers of the Little League International Board of Directors

  • Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour, Chairman, Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • Hugh Tanner, Chairman-Elect, Houston, Texas
  • Stephen D. Keener, President and Chief Executive Officer, Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • David Houseknecht, Senior Vice President of Administration and Chief Financial Officer, Muncy, Pennsylvania
  • Patrick W. Wilson, Senior Vice President of Operations and Program Development, Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • Elizabeth DiLullo Brown Vice President of Marketing and Strategic Partnerships, Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Dan Kirby, Vice President of Risk Management, South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • Melissa Singer, Vice President and Treasurer, Montoursville, Pennsylvania
  • Lance Van Auken, Vice President and Executive Director of the Little League Museum, South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
  • Joseph W. Losch, Corporate Secretary, Williamsport, Pennsylvania