Welcome to Little League® - Baseball, Softball and Challenger

Partners & Offers

 > Little League Online > Learn More > Newsletters > Fairball Newsletter > 2013 > Fairball - January/February 2013 > Stump the Ump – What’s the Call?

Stump the Ump – What’s the Call?


1. In a Senior Baseball game, the runner on second attempts to steal third as the pitcher delivers the ball to the batter. The pitcher commits a balk that is called by the umpire. The catcher catches the ball, and then immediately throws to third to attempt to retire the runner but his throw sails over the third baseman’s head into left field, allowing the runner to score. Once the action has stopped the umpire calls time and sends the runner who scored back to third base. Right or Wrong

2. In the fifth inning, with a runner on second base and no outs, John, the number seven batter, inadvertently bats in the number three spot where Dan should have batted and hits a double scoring the runner from second base. Carl, the number four batter steps into the batter’s box and takes a pitch for a strike. The defensive manager then requests time out and informs the umpire that they are batting out of order. The umpire checks his line up and agrees. The umpire calls Carl out, puts the runner back on second and removes John from second base. Right or Wrong

3. There are runners on first and third and two out. The batter hits a ground ball into the hole at shortstop but the shortstop has no play on the batter or runner from first base. The runner on third base scores and then the runner from first base decides to showboat and does a head first slide into second base. The umpire calls the runner from first out on the head first slide. The umpire scores the run from third because he says it is a timing play. Right or Wrong

4. In a Little League baseball game, the bases are loaded with two outs. The runner on second leaves the base before the pitched ball reaches the batter and the umpire drops the signal flag. The batter hits the ball into the gap and all the runners score before the batter-runner is thrown out at third base for the third out of the inning.

How many runs are allowed to score?

5. The catcher in trying to catch a foul pop fly, has the ball go down between his chest protector and his uniform shirt. The catcher acquires possession of the ball before it can hit the ground and shows it to the umpire. The umpire calls the batter out. Right or Wrong



1. Right – When a balk is called, it is a delayed dead ball. When the pitch was delivered it is still a live ball until the pitch is caught or hit by the batter. As soon as the catcher caught the pitch the ball became dead at that point. So all action after the catcher caught the ball is nullified. The umpire will call time as soon as the catcher caught the ball and enforce the balk penalty.

Rule 8.05 Penalty.

2. Wrong – The team was batting out of order but once a pitch was thrown to Carl, John the improper batter then became the proper batter and all his actions were legalized, so no one can be called out and the run is allowed to score. The only problem now is that since John become the proper batter, after a pitch to Carl, the batter that now should be at bat is the number eight batter, Tony and he can replace Carl at any time without penalty before Carl completes the at bat.

Rule 6.07 (c).

3. Wrong - Since the runner from first was forced to advance due to the batter becoming a runner, the out at second base is a force play whether the defense tags the base or the runner, the runner is out on an appeal for not touching the base or on a head first slide. So no runs can score when the third out of inning is a result of a force play.

Rule 2.00 – Force Play; Rule 4.09 (a) Exception; Rule 7.08 (a) (4).

4. None, Zero – When one runner leaves early it jeopardizes all the runners, so normally after all action has ceased, the umpire will call time and return all the runners to as close to their original bases as possible. Since the batter-runner was thrown out at third base, leaving the bases empty, all the runners should have be returned to their time of pitch base. Since the out at third base was the third out of the inning, the teams will switch sides and no runs will be recorded.

Rule 7.13 (b) Exception; Rule 7.13 Note 2.

5. Wrong - As soon as the pop fly went down between the chest protector and the uniform shirt it became a trapped ball and was dead at that point and cannot be secured for an out. It is just a foul ball.

Rule 2.00 – Catch.

Provided by the Little League Operations Department